Fencor ‘Team 1989’

The Fencor 1989 age group is one of the most successful in the history of AAU basketball. Starting at the age of 10 years old, the Fencor team won 3 AAU national championships, two times finished second and finished third once. It won 7 Middle Atlantic championships and lost only one game. They also finished second at the prestigious End of the Trail tournament in Oregon and won the Boo Williams Tournament in the silver division.

‘Some’ of those players included Elena Delle Donne (WNBA Rookie of the Year), Caroline Doty (two-time national champion at UConn), Lindsay Kimmel (Villanova), Shannon Ferguson (Rider), Erin Edwards (Navy), Michele Brokans (UMBC, now coach at Eastern U.), Renee Womack (Penn State), Rosie Tarnowski (Washington State), Colleen Magarity (three-time NCAA lax champ at Northwestern), Christine Matera (Harvard), Chelsea Shine (Virginia), Sarah Acker (St. Joseph’s, Delaware), Hanna Halteman (N.C. State) and Colleen Christian (USP).

For further information on the team, you can go to

Fencor History – Moments In Our Proud Past

Elena Delle Donne (7 year Fencor player from Ursuline Academy) was named High School Co-Player of the Year.

Team 15 Green – 3rd Place Division I – 2008

Team 10 & Under Winners of the 2007 Charlie Smith Memorial Tournament

2004 Championship by Keith Prince, The News Star July 23, 2004

Thrice Is Nice by James D. Horne, The Leaf-Chronicle, July 28, 2005